All individuals living in the State of California are currently ordered to stay home or at their place of residence, except for permitted work, local shopping or other permitted errands, or as otherwise authorized (including in the Questions and answers below).

State orders in place:

Regional Stay Home Order

The Regional Stay Home Order (PDF), announced December 3, 2020, and a supplemental order, signed December 6, 2020, will go into effect at 11:59 PM the day after a region has been announced to have less than 15% ICU availability. The supplemental order clarifies retail operations and goes into effect immediately. They prohibit private gatherings of any size, close sector operations except for critical infrastructure and retail, and require 100% masking (with certain exceptions as indicated within guidance for use of face coverings) and physical distancing.

Counties with 10% ICU availability or less, in regions with 0% ICU availability, are directed to prioritize services to those who are sickest and cancel or reschedule elective surgeries. This is per the Hospital Surge Public Health Order announced January 5, 2021.

Once triggered, these orders will remain in effect for at least 3 weeks. After that period, they will be lifted when a region’s projected ICU capacity meets or exceeds 15%. This will be assessed on a weekly basis after the initial 3 week period.

Once a region exits the Regional Stay Home Order, counties within that region return to the appropriate tier and rules under the Blueprint for a Safer Economy.

Learn more about these orders and find out what’s open in your area.


The state released a map of the five regions being measured. When a region first falls below 15% ICU bed availability, the Regional Stay Home Order goes into effect there the next evening at 11:59 PM.

  • Northern California: Del Norte, Glenn, Humboldt, Lake, Lassen, Mendocino, Modoc, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama, Trinity
  • Bay Area: Alameda, Contra Costa, Marin, Monterey, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Solano, Sonoma
  • Greater Sacramento: Alpine, Amador, Butte, Colusa, El Dorado, Nevada, Placer, Plumas, Sacramento, Sierra, Sutter, Yolo, Yuba
  • San Joaquin Valley: Calaveras, Fresno, Kern, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, San Benito, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Tulare, Tuolumne
  • Southern California: Imperial, Inyo, Los Angeles, Mono, Orange, Riverside, San Bernardino, San Diego, San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Ventura

Click map to see current ICU bed availability:

Limited Stay Home Order

The Limited Stay Home Order (effective November 21, 2020) and its Supplement (effective December 22, 2020) require that in counties in the Widespread (purple) tier, Californians stay home between 10:00pm and 5:00am, with some exceptions. You can go outside on your own or with members of your household as long as you are not gathering with other households. You can also go out to do essential activities, or if you are required to go out by law. Non-essential businesses are required to close between the same hours.

In counties under a Regional Stay Home Order, the Limited Stay Home Order adds this restriction: non-essential retail operations in these counties must close between 10:00pm and 5:00am.

Blueprint for a Safer Economy

On August 28, 2020, the State released the Blueprint for a Safer Economy to permit gradual reopening of certain businesses and activities. Counties are assigned tiers that are updated weekly and determined by the county’s case rate and test positivity rate. Local jurisdictions may have more restrictive local orders than the assigned tier.

Stay Home Order

On March 19, 2020, an Executive Order (PDF) and Public Health Order (PDF) directed all Californians to stay home except to go to an essential job or to shop for essential needs. It was modified on May 4, 2020.

Questions and answers

Regional Stay Home Order

Stay Home Order

Blueprint for a Safer Economy

Limited Stay Home Order


Protected activities

Government services