Everyone in California is required to stay home except to get food, care for a relative or friend, get necessary health care, or go to an essential job. If you go out, keep at least 6 feet of distance. Learn more.
Questions and answers
Are airports and other forms of transportation safe during the spread of COVID-19?
Crowded travel settings, like airports, may increase your risk of exposure to COVID-19. For specific travel considerations, see the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention guidance on travel in the U.S.
Why is everything getting canceled?
Because people can spread this virus even if they never develop symptoms.
The California State Public Health Officer and Director of the California Department of Public Health is ordering all individuals living in the State of California to stay home or at their place of residence except as needed to maintain continuity of operation of the federal critical infrastructure sectors.
If you must go out for essential activities, maintain six feet from other individuals at all times. Any contact with other individuals should be preceded and followed by frequent hand washing.
Can I go to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV)?
No. All DMV field offices are temporarily closed to the public (beginning March 27). All appointments at this time have been canceled and no appointments are currently available. You can access many DMV services online, including driver’s license renewals, vehicle registrations, and more.
Recent changes to DMV include:
- You can now request a duplicate driver license online if lost or stolen and if it does not expire within 30 days.
- In-person renewals are temporarily waived for 60 days.
- Seniors with an expiring driver license will receive a 120-day extension in the mail.
- Those with safe driving records whose last DMV visit was 15 years ago will not be required to renew in person for the next 60 days and will be able to renew online or by mail.
- Beginning April 2, 2020, you can complete vehicle title transfers and complex vehicle registration renewals by visiting virtual.dmv.ca.gov. DMV will gradually add more transactions to continue to provide alternatives to an in-person office visit.
In addition, the DMV has asked law enforcement to exercise discretion for 60 days in their enforcement of drivers license and vehicle registration expiration dates. Learn more about DMV changes to service.
Are there health risks to shopping at grocery stores?
Crowded settings may increase your risk of exposure to COVID-19. When you need to go to the grocery store:
- clean and disinfect frequently touched surfaces (such as shopping carts)
- stay six feet (three paces) away from other people
- avoid touching your face
- when you get home, wash your hands with soap and water for at least 20 seconds
- if soap and water aren’t available, use alcohol-based hand sanitizer
If you are at higher risk of getting very sick (over 65 or with serious medical conditions), try to minimize errands by getting groceries delivered or asking for help from friends or family.