加州的优势在于其多样性。歧视和仇恨在我们的社会中没有立足之地,更不用说在应对COVID-19期间。将疾病与任何人群或种族联系在一起是错误的做法,并且十分危险。为了全加州人的福祉,我们必须举报并制止暴力、霸凌和骚扰。 

在此次紧急公共卫生事件中,制止歧视行为尤为重要。如果不加以控制,可能导致有人拒绝医疗、侵犯公民权利和出现暴力行为。这可能导致病毒进一步传播和更多人死亡,对社区造成严重影响。分享准确信息 — 切勿宣扬污名化或仇恨言论。这有助于我们凝聚为一个群体,共同对抗COVID-19。

加州法律保护州内所有民众免受歧视。您不得因种族、原国籍、血统或移民身份而受到歧视。歧视不得发生于:

商业亦不得因公民身份或所讲语言而进行歧视。其中包括住房提供者。

加州法律亦保护所有民众免受与歧视有关的暴力

如果您遭受任何形式的歧视或暴力,请提交投诉

污名化

新型冠状病毒带来的恐惧和焦虑感是真实存在的。但其并不是污名化整个群体的借口。虽然COVID-19的传播始于国外,但该病与任何种族或国籍无关。

因为族裔身份而对人们进行污名化是错误的行为,您也不会因此安全无虞。每个人都可能感染冠状病毒。当我们让恐惧、仇恨、污名和错误资料影响我们的行为时,遭受污名化的群体的身心皆会受到伤害。我们要摒弃有害言论,不要在我们的言谈中出现。

让我们的社区在艰困的时期保持活力。在您的言行中摒弃污名化

没有人应该为COVID-19疫情爆发负责,我们都必须共同努力终结疫情。这是邻居相互提醒的好时机: 

网络霸凌

发送或发布伤害性内容是霸凌的一种形式。即使学生在家学习,其亦可能发生。这是有害行为,不该容忍。

如果您认为自己的孩子遭受网络霸凌,我们可以提供相关援助。请参阅教育部 (Department of Education) 提供的霸凌预防资源

仇恨犯罪

出于仇恨的犯罪是由受害人所感知的社会群体所引发的犯罪。它不同于受宪法第一修正案 (First Amendment) 保护的仇恨言论。但是,当仇恨言论导致仇恨犯罪时,法律将保护受害者。

如果您怀疑自己是仇恨犯罪的受害者,请立即与当地警察联系。保留所有的证据,写下您能记住的一切。请参阅关于仇恨犯罪以及如何举报仇恨犯罪的指引(数个语言版本)。

及时了解最新消息

California’s strength is in its diversity. Discrimination and hate have no place in our society, let alone in our response to COVID-19. Associating the disease with any group of people or ethnicity is wrong and dangerous. Violence, bullying and harassment must be reported and stopped for the good of all. 

During this public health emergency, it’s particularly important to stop discrimination. Unchecked, it can lead to denial of healthcare, violation of civil rights, and violence. This can cause further spread of the virus and deaths, with grave impact to the community. Share accurate information – don’t promote stigma or hate. This will help us come together as a community to fight COVID-19.

California law protects every person in the state from discrimination. You may not be discriminated against because of race, national origin, ancestry, or immigration status. Discrimination may not happen in:

Businesses are also prohibited from discriminating because of citizenship or language spoken. This includes housing providers.

California law also protects every person from violence related to discrimination.

If you have faced any of these forms of discrimination or violence, file a complaint.

Stigma

Fear and anxiety about coronavirus are real. But they are no excuse for stigmatizing whole groups of people. While the spread of COVID-19 began abroad, the disease is not linked to any race or nationality.

Stigmatizing people because of where they appear to be from is wrong and does not make you safe. Anyone can have coronavirus. Stigmatized groups suffer mentally and physically when we let fear, hatred, stigma, and bad data inform our actions. We must call out harmful language and remove it from our own speech.

Keep our communities resilient during tough times. Eliminate stigma in your words and actions.

No one is to blame for the COVID-19 outbreak, and we must all work together to end the pandemic. This is a good time for a few good neighbor reminders: 

  • Speak up when you see others treated poorly.
  • Know that many of us will get COVID-19, regardless of our race, ethnicity, gender, age, or sexual orientation. 
  • Be kind to others and treat everyone with respect. 
  • Read Governor Newsom’s Twitter statements against xenophobia targeting the Asian-American community.

Cyberbullying

Sending or posting hurtful content is a form of bullying. It can happen even when a student is learning at home. Such behavior is damaging, and should not be tolerated.

If you think your child is being cyberbullied, there is help. See the Department of Education’s bullying prevention resources.

Hate crimes

A hate crime is a crime motivated by the victim’s perceived social group. It is different from hate speech, which is protected by the First Amendment. But when hate speech leads to a hate crime, the law protects the victim.

If you suspect you are the victim of a hate crime, contact your local police right away. Save all evidence, and write down everything you can remember. See guidance on hate crimes and how to report them in several languages.

Stay informed